Senator for Victoria

Media Releases


Wednesday, 27 March 2019

The Liberal and Nationals Government is continuing to back regional Australia through a further $15 million extension to the Drought Communities Programme, with 15 additional councils now eligible to apply for funding under the program.
Minister for Regional Services, Sport, Local Government and Decentralisation Bridget McKenzie said the extension brought the total funding for drought relief projects in the worst-affected local government areas to $96 million.
“We have identified which local government areas across Australia are the most drought-affected, taking into account Bureau of Meteorology data and the proportion of the workforce employed in the agriculture, forestry and fisheries sector to assess the impact of drought in the region,” Minister McKenzie said.
“As a result of this review, 15 more councils were identified to be heavily drought-affected, taking the total number of councils eligible for this program from 81 to 96.
Minister McKenzie said the newly eligible councils span across New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania.
“These councils will have until the end of 2019 to apply for and complete their projects,” she said.
“We know that drought is felt as hard on the main street as it is in the back paddock which is why our drought response is designed to help farmers as well as the towns and communities that surround them.
“Our Government is backing local communities to deliver local projects to drive more jobs in the communities doing it tough.
“The Drought Communities Programme has a track record of getting it done, and this is another way the Liberal and Nationals Government is tackling drought, and working together with local communities.
“This funding targets some of the worst hit areas, making it possible for councils to implement important infrastructure projects and other drought-relief activities.”
Funding has been used for a wide variety of projects that assist farmers and residents such as the Bollon Town Common Fencing Upgrade, which will renew fences for better management of stock close to main roads in the Balonne Shire, and the Unsealed Road Infrastructure Upgrade, which will install water filling stations closer to farmers and upgrading cattle grids in the Tamworth Shire.
Becoming eligible for the DCP Extension also enables farmers, farm workers and suppliers/contractors ito apply for the Drought Community Support Initiative (DCSI).
The DCSI provides up to $3,000 per eligible drought-affected household.  Arrangements are being finalised to ensure this valuable support can become available as soon as possible through providers including St Vincent de Paul and The Salvation Army.
Further information on the program and a list of eligible councils is available at
New South Wales
Armidale Regional                  Bathurst Regional                   Bega Valley
Bland                                       Blayney                                   Brewarrina
Broken Hill                              Bogan                                      Bourke
Cabonne                                 Carrathool                               Central Darling
Cobar                                      Coonamble                             Cowra
Dubbo Regional                      Edward River                          Forbes
Gilgandra                                Glen Innes Severn Shire        Gunnedah
Gwydir                                     Inverell                                    Lachlan
Leeton                                     Lithgow                                   Liverpool Plains
Mid-Western Regional            Moree Plains                           Murrumbidgee
Muswellbrook                          Narrabri                                   Narrandera
Narromine                               Oberon                                    Parkes
Tamworth Regional                Tenterfield                               Unincorporated Far West
Upper Hunter                          Uralla                                       Walcha
Walgett                                    Warren                                    Warrumbungle
Weddin                                    Wentworth
Balonne                                   Barcaldine                               Barcoo
Blackall                                   Tambo Bulloo                          Boulia
Diamantina                              Flinders                                   Goondiwindi
Lockyer Valley                        Longreach                               Maranoa
McKinlay                                 Murweh                                   Paroo
Richmond                                Quilpie                                     Somerset
South Burnett                          Southern Downs                     Toowoomba
Buloke                                     East Gippsland                       Wellington
South Australia
Barunga West                         Berri Barmera                         Ceduna
Clare and Gilbert Valleys        Cleve                                       Flinders Ranges
Franklin Harbour                     Goyder Karoonda                   East Murray
Kimba                                      Light                                        Loxton Waikerie
Mid Murray                              Mount Remarkable                 Murray Bridge
Northern Areas                       Orroroo/Carrieton                   Peterborough
Southern Mallee                     Streaky Bay                            Wakefield
Break O’Day                           Glamorgan Spring Bay
© Senator Bridget McKenzie 2014 | Authorised by Senator Bridget McKenzie, National Party of Australia, Bendigo Victoria 3550
Datasearch Web Design | Privacy Policy & Disclaimer | Accessibility Policy | Login